About AOA

The joys of motherhood are never fully experienced until all the children are in bed.
- Unknown

 

AOA Patient Profile - Michele Butler

Patient profile pictureWho is your AOA doctor? How long have you been with the practice?
Dr. Valerie Sorkin-Wells, and let me think… it’s been a long while. I guess I’ve been a patient of hers since 1996 or ’97.

What do you like about your AOA doctor?   Why do you use this practice?
I love the practice. I love the way it’s set up and the staff is friendly. But, what I absolutely love is Dr. Sorkin-Wells. She is the reason I go back. Because of how she treats me, I consider her a friend. Yet, she’s very professional. She cares about me as an individual. I’ve had a lot of physical issues, and had a lot of different specialists that she recommended and they were all incredible. If I really needed someone to talk to you, she was there.

Can you tell us a little about your family? Are you married? Do you have children?
I’ve been happily married for 32 years to my wonderful husband, Mike. I have two children, including a daughter who turned 31 in October and a 30-year-old son. Ann, my daughter, goes to the same practice. She has a Masters in Psychology and two children of her own, aged 11 and 8. My son has been married four years and he has a 16-month-old daughter, so I’m a grandmother to three children.

Do you own any pets? If so, what kind and what are their names?
We have a dog, a Brussels Griffon name Gidget. She’s our “empty-nester” spoiled dog. Of course the grandchildren are here all the time, so the nest isn’t exactly empty. We aren’t really cat people, but over the last couple of years have adopted four cats.

What languages do you speak?
I just speak English, but I took three years of Latin and I loved it. But hey, it’s a dead language. I originally took Latin because I wanted to go to med school to be a pathologist. Then life stepped in and took me in a different direction.

Do you have any hobbies? Please give us a few details about what you like about your hobby/hobbies.
Our family loves the outdoors. I love to be up in mountains, and love to hike with my husband, Mike. We love to fish for trout. We love doing anything outdoors, really.

I also love to read. I am involved with a women’s group – a Bible study group, and I really enjoy spending time with my grandchildren.

What is your favorite movie?
“Dances with Wolves”

What is your favorite book?
The Bible

What is your favorite food?
My favorite food is anything my husband cooks. He’s a very good cook. A big favorite is trout on the grill with lemon and onions.

What is your favorite quote or motto?
Speak truth and love.